Cataract, Eye Surgery

A cataract is a natural fogging of the human lens resulting in cloudy vision. During cataract surgery the cloudy natural lens is replaced with a clear, artificial lens called an intraocular lens (IOL).

Single Focus IOLs Versus Multiple Focus IOLs

The most common used type of IOL is the single focus (fixed-focus) IOL. The single focus IOL allows sharp images at one distance and glasses are used to widen the range of clear focused vision.

If a patient’s visual needs require less dependence on spectacles Multiple Focus IOLs could be the answer.

One group of multiple focus IOLs that can offer a greater spectacle free range of vision after cataract surgery are the Multifocal IOLs.

Multifocal IOLs are designed with zones of different powers built into the lens. The zone you look through will determine if you can see clearly at far, near, or intermediate distances.

Cataract Surgery Multifocal IOLs

Types of Multifocal IOLs

What Are Accommodative IOLs?

Accommodative Intraocular Lens Within the Eye

Accommodative IOL within the eye

Another multiple focus IOL types are accommodative IOLs. Accommodative IOLs are designed to use eye muscles that adjust the position of the IOL within the eye.

This position movement acts in a focusing capacity. When the eye muscles position the IOL forward the eye can focus near and when the muscles push the IOL back the eye views distant objects.

Cataract Surgery and IOL Specialists at Westchester Eye Surgeons

On average implanting a multiple focus IOL takes about 20 minutes.

Cataract surgery candidates should discuss if they are eligible for multiple focus IOLs with their eye surgeons.

Contact Westchester Eye Surgeons today for more information.